About Alamgirians


History of MCJ (our Alma Mater)


1) Military College Jhelum (MCJ) is the oldest military institution of its kind in Pakistan. It is an English medium institution, running classes from VIII to XII. It is located on the Grand Trunk (GT) Road, beside the town of Sarai Alamgir. The campus is spread over about 170 acres of area. It was founded by Prince of Wales, Prince Edward VIII, at Sarai Alamgir on 3rd March 1922 and named as King George Royal Indian Military School (KGRIMS). It started functioning on 15th September 1925, as a residential school for the sons of soldiers. During the World War II, the school was upgraded to the status of college as King George Royal Indian Military College in 1943 for training potential officers for the Army.

2) With the creation of Pakistan, it was renamed as King George Royal Pakistan Military College (KGRPMC) Jhelum. In 1956, the name was changed to its present name Military College Jhelum. It was restructured as a quality public school and assigned the role of a feeder institution for the Pakistan Military Academy.

3) The Alumni of the College have performed extremely well all along, both in peace and war. The College Roll of Honour radiates with the names of 40xshaheed, 1xNishan-e-Haider (Major Muhammad Akram Shaheed), a number of Nishan-e-Imtiaz(M), Hilal-e-Imtiaz(M), Military Cross/Sitara-i-Jurrat, Sitara-e-Basalat, Sitara-e-Imtiaz(M), Tamgha-i-Jurrat, Tamgh-i-Shujaat, Tamgha-i-Imtiaz(M), and Imtiazi Asnad. List of the distinguished Alamgirians includes Governors, ministers, Chairman Joint Chief of Staff Committee, Chief of Army Staff, Chief of Air Staff, Chief of Naval Staff, Vice Chief of Army Staff, Chairman NAB, VC of universities, ambassadors, over 77 general officers, more than 300 brigadiers, above 2500 colonels / lieutenant colonels/majors and large number of highly placed officers both in the civil and military establishments. The performance of the Alamgirians at Pakistan Military Academy is also commendable; 38 Alamgirians have won the distinguished Sword of Honour/ Norman Gold medal.

Commandants of MCJ

Capt W. L. Clarke Sep 1925 – Aug 1930

Capt W. L. Clarke
Sep 1925 – Aug 1930

Capt H. H. Clarke
Aug 1930 – Apr 1933

Maj W. P. Selbie, MC
Apr 1933 – May 1937


Lt Col T. H. L.

Stebbing, MC

May 1937 – Aug 1947

Maj Aurangzeb Khan
Aug 1947 – Feb 1948

Lt Col S.F.H Zaidi
Feb 1948 – Jul 1952


Lt Col M. Rafiq
Jul 1952 – Apr 1953

Lt Col Sultan Sikandar
Apr 1953 – Jul 1954

Lt Col H.L Edwards
Jul 1954 – Oct 1955


Lt Col M.Rafiq
Oct 1955 – May 1959

Lt Col M.Sardar Khan
May 1959 – May 1967

Lt Col Murtaza Hussain
May 1967 – Jun 1969


Lt Col Pervez Sikandar
Jun 1969 – Dec 1969

Lt Col S. A. Qureshi
Dec 1969 – Jun 1970

Maj M. Zahurul Haq
Jun 1970 – Oct 1970


Col N. D. Ahmed
Oct 1970 – Oct 1973

Lt Col M. Ikram Ameen
Oct 1973 – Apr 1974

Col M. Zahurul Haq
Apr 1974 – Jun 1977


M. Ikramn Ameen
Jun 1977 – Aug 1978

Col M. Said Khokhar
Aug 1978 – Jun 1980

Brig Abdul Sattar, SI(M)
Jun 1980 – Jan 1983


Brig I. R. Siddiqui
Jan 1983 – Aug 1984

Brig Usman Shah,  SI(M)
Aug 1984 – Aug 1987

Brig Dr. Noor-ul-Haq
Aug 1987 – Oct 1991


Brig Maqsud-uI-Hassan, SI(M), TI(M), AFWA, PSC, PSA 

Oct 1991 – Aug 1998

Brig Muhammad Afzal Malik, SI(M), AWC, PSC, G

Aug 1998 – Apr 2013

Brig Akhtar Pervez, SI(M)

Apr 2013 – Aug 2015


Brig Ahmed Salman 

Oct 2015 – To date


We are not just Friends, We are a knitted Family

Please check Military College Jhelum location Map on google Map showing the broad view, how you can reach from different regions.